The Various Types Of Eye Surgery

The Various Types Of Eye Surgery

Eye surgery, also known as ophthalmic or ocular surgery, is a kind of surgical procedure that’s performed on the eye or even the surrounding cells. There are a range of distinct types of eye surgeries such as refractive surgery, corneal surgery, glaucoma surgery, cataract surgery, and oculoplastic (cosmetic) surgery.

Refractive Surgery

The objective of refractive surgery is to enhance a patient’s eyesight. A person who’s either nearsighted or farsighted includes a refractive error in the inside of their attention. Light entering the eye will not correctly focus on the retina, rather focusing on the front of the retina in nearsighted people or beneath the retina at farsighted people. The outcome is that seen images look blurry and out of focus. Refractive surgery corrects this mistake, enabling light to focus directly on the retina, thus improving eyesight and eliminating the need for corrective lenses.

There are many techniques of refractive surgery, the most popular of which can be LASIK (laser assisted in-situ keratomileusis), LASEK (laser assisted sub-epithelial keratomileusis) as called Epi-LASIK, PRK (Photorefractive keratectomy), CK (conductive keratoplasty), along with ICRs or Intacs (Intracorneal rings).

Corneal Surgery

Corneal surgery is any surgery which involves manipulation of the retina of the eye. This encompasses virtually all types of refractive surgeries because the embryo is altered to be able to enhance somebody’s vision. Additionally, it has corneal transplant surgery, a process where a damaged or diseased cornea is removed and replaced with a clear cornea in an organ donor. Other types of corneal surgery are PK (penetrating keratoplasty), PTK (phototherapeutic keratectomy), and Pterygium excession

Glaucoma Surgery

Glaucoma is a disease that attacks the optic nerve, leading to loss of eyesight and also a rise in blood pressure. Glaucoma surgeries help in combating the disease by lowering intraocular pressure. This could possibly be done by lowering the total amount of aqueous generated from the eye or by encouraging the discharge of surplus aqueous humor in the eye.

Cataract Surgery

Cataract extraction is the most frequent eye surgery performed. Age, illness, or injury to the eye can occasionally trigger the crystalline lens of the eye to become opaque and cloudy. This cloudiness, referred to as a cataract, interferes with the eye’s ability to focus a clear image on the retina, leading to loss of eyesight. The existence of significant cataracts necessitates the removal and replacement of the lens during cataract surgery. Even though there are a range of distinct types of cataract extraction, the two most well-known procedures are known as ICCE (intracapsular cataract extraction) and ECCE (extracapsular cataract extraction).

Oculoplastic Surgery

Oculoplastic surgery is a form of eye surgery that affects the reconstruction of the eye and its surrounding structures. Eyelid surgery, or blepharoplasty, eliminates excessive fat, skin and muscle in the eyelid to fix sagging or puffy eyes. Browplasty, frequently known as a forehead lift, is the reconstruction of their forehead and brow bone. Oculoplastic surgery may also involve the removal of the eye itself. Enucleation requires the removal of the eye itself, leaving the muscles surrounding the eye along with all orbital contents set up. Evisceration takes place when the eye and all of its contents are eliminated, leaving only the shell of the sclera set up. At length, exenteration requires the removal of the whole orbital content. Including the removal of the eye itself, some other extraocular muscles, enclosing fat, and most of connective tissues.

Comments are closed.